The dadventure is afoot!

A Change of Seasons

Sid Dunnebacke:

From UnFocused, the blog that will eventually take over for Dad Knows!

Originally posted on UnFocused:

I’m no wimp concerning winter weather, as shown by my recent adventures going to and from Ottawa*.  I can drive effectively in it, mostly, I can shovel it with the best of them (snow or BS – I worded it like that intentionally – bring the comments), and I can appreciate the beauty of a snowy landscape as well.

But as I get older, my appreciation for wintry conditions subsides while my impatience with it grows, like two moons slowly waning and waxing over the years.

So I need a diversion.  Or a change of seasons.  I’m not yet the Jedi Master I want to be, I’ve not yet gotten my invitation to Hogwarts, and no one has ever mistaken me for Merlin.  But I can take pictures, and I can resurrect pictures from long forgotten autumns.

Misty and mysterious

Queen Anne's Lace

Looking up

Eastern Tiger Swallowtail

Carefree days

Nearing dusk and still warm

* The post about my traveling travails is still coming.

Thanks for the…

View original 6 more words

4 responses

  1. So gorgeous! To think that some day green will reassert itself (with all the other beautiful colors added in as well.) It will happen won’t it, Sid?

    February 2, 2014 at 8:55 am

    • It always does, Kathy. That tilt in our orbit round the sun changes only ever so slightly, so we’re still good! Thank you, too.

      February 2, 2014 at 5:51 pm

  2. Spring will arrive before you know it. We’re having a little taste of it as it is 70 degrees today as I type. We have so many different evergreens here that even winters are more easily taken – all kinds of conifers (red cedar, Leyland Cypress, 6 different species of pine, some firs, a few hemlocks) then a lot of holly and some type of wild rhododendron with the waxy green leaves.

    February 2, 2014 at 2:38 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 448 other followers