The dadventure is afoot!

And Now For Something Not Completely Different

For those of you who read my previous post, I’ll say right here at the start that I didn’t intend to write such a dark post.  The moment being what it was, though, that’s what came out of my brain.

So, I owe you a treat of a totally different type of post, or at least something a little different – and you’re getting it.  After three years of posting photos to Dad Knows, I am nearing capacity for space allotted to me.  If I want to continue posting photos, I must either pay or find a new vehicle for them.  I’m all about choosing the latter, or rather, not choosing the former.

What that means is that I’m starting a new blog.  It’s essentially a continuation of this one, and can be found here.  I’ll admit to not giving the blog name much thought, but go there and you can read why I chose the name UnFocused.

So, yeah.  Dad Knows is going to fade into blog history (but won’t die), and UnFocused is taking over.

I invite you to pop over and read, and subscribe/follow.  So many of you have become such dear friends, and I’ve truly cherished our interactions here and at your fine blogs.  I’ve met only two of you in person, and yet I can truly say you’ve all become important people to me.  Something you may enjoy hearing is that for the first year and a half or so of blogging, I got something like one like from outside my immediate family.  One.  At some point I realized WordPress was another social media site, and I needed to treat it as such.  (I know, right?)  So, I started poking around and liking and commenting and following, and for the next year met more and more people from all over the planet.  The blog became a really fabulous place for me to hang out with friends.   Life got a bit overwhelming this year, though, and so since like early August I’ve posted only twice.  Well, now three times.  Still, you regular readers didn’t desert me or unfollow or anything of the sort.  You’re still there, welcoming me back with open arms.  As friends. For being so friend-ly and wonderful, I thank you all.

Now, feel no pressure to follow or subscribe to UnFocused, but know that if you don’t do it you’re off my Christmas card list…  Kidding, of course.

To save you the trip over to UnFocused – just this one time – here’s the text of my first post over there:

Yes, well, not really.

In fact, that’s a blatant lie.  This blog is to be the continuation of Dad Knows, which I kept for some three years and in which there was little in the realm of consistency.  I was all over the map, really, in terms of topics and content.

My last post on Dad Knows was on the disturbing, scary, and unnerving side, and honestly I didn’t intend it to be so much that way.  I wrote in the midst of a dark moment in which the monsters of depression were above me, casting shadows and drooling.  It’s not always like that.  Other moments are bright sunshiny happy affairs, and in those moments I’m likely to write about the shenanigans of my cats.

Darkness... light... it's all there.
Darkness… light… it’s all there.  In this case, “there” is my car’s windshield, but the metaphor works.

As you might expect, life most often finds me (or any of us) somewhere in between those two extremes.  There are dark days, there are bright days, and there are 50 shades of (ahem) luminosity between them.

Oh, a significant reason for me ditching Dad Knows and starting up this one is that I was running out of space for photos.  I’m a so-so photographer, but I’m a quite poor spender, and so was not about to shell out $99 or however much for an upgrade with more space.

It was time for a new look, also, and so was born UnFocused.  I frankly don’t expect much if any difference between UnFocused and Dad Knows.  The title is just an excuse to reference Monty Python.  I’m of the opinion that any blog post can be made better by referencing Monty Python.

Thank you for stopping by, whether you were a loyal reader and friend from Dad Knows or new to the unfocused brain of me who writes here.  You’re always welcome to leave a comment, respectfully critique a post, start a conversation, or simply say hello.

To all of you – welcome!

8 responses

  1. Ok so I admit that you must have wondered what I was on about. For some reason, I found your last post inspiring me with hope. Does that say something about your post or my state of mind? Anyway off now to follow the new blog…

    December 13, 2013 at 4:23 pm

    • Sid

      Heh. I think the fact that I totally understand says more than either, Cate. Hope seems to come from weird places – today, for me, it was a Facebook post about Firefly.

      December 13, 2013 at 8:00 pm

  2. You know that I will follow you anywhere you go Sid so I am coming to your new blog now ;)

    December 17, 2013 at 6:55 pm

    • Aw, thank you M. Always a pleasure to see you and your red hat. :)

      December 17, 2013 at 11:51 pm

  3. Hmm, well, I had to add more space back in October and I also paid to keep those darned advertisements off my blog. I debated whether to start a new blog, but then decided to view my purchase of additional space as entertainment or a hobby. I’ll be making the move with you Sid! Count me in!

    December 17, 2013 at 10:53 pm

    • And that makes sense to me, too, Lori, thinking of the expense in that way. But I’m cheap.

      Good to know I’ll be seeing you round the new place!

      December 17, 2013 at 11:54 pm

  4. I am already liking the more positive theme. Keep the postings and pictures coming my friend (SMILE)!

    December 18, 2013 at 10:11 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 448 other followers