The dadventure is afoot!

Still Alive

Come autumn, or a fall, the days get colder, less bright, and maybe even bleak.  Unwelcome winds come, some days more fiercely than others.

Color fades from a natural brightness to muted tones, often slowly and subtly but on occasion seemingly in an instant.

Evidence of life is stripped and tossed on the ground below, to be ignored and forgotten, noticed only by those with an eye or heart for recognizing the beauty within.

Bare limbs no longer invite the company of those who before found shelter and comfort in them.

2011-10-28 11.45.19-1

There is a path and a bridge, over which is a firm ground and a new perspective – right there, within reach.  The one who can reach them does not, instead staying in place, steadfast, standing as tall and proud as nature allows.

Their chosen place is too familiar, whether the footing around them has eroded or the earth has risen up around to bury more.

Depending on where the surroundings are, the stinging and penetrating effects of winter can be long lasting or brief, paralyzing or easily swept away.

No matter the tree or the man, there is a promise of a spring with brighter days, lasting warmth, familiar companions, and renewed life.

22 responses

  1. Beautiful words… and true to life! This photo is stunning. I also like your header photo!

    November 2, 2013 at 7:33 pm

    • Thank you Lori. Isn’t that scene wonderful? One of favorite pictures, for sure.

      December 8, 2013 at 10:28 pm

  2. Ah, yes. Those lovely paths through the forests. Peaceful at any time of year. But so much more breathtaking in autumn. Lovely photo reminds me of some of my favorite places.

    November 2, 2013 at 9:48 pm

    • Totally agree about the forest paths. Finding a bench on which to sit and simply take in the sights and sounds and smells – a little bit of heaven, in my mind. Glad to help you recall those favorite places!

      December 8, 2013 at 10:31 pm

  3. Words so deep. What an eloquent post. Hope this finds you well.

    November 4, 2013 at 11:51 am

    • Depth and eloquence aren’t attributes I’d recognize in myself. I will admit that, like probably most writers, words of greater feeling and profoundness are most always the result of great emotion. In any case – thank you, Kat!

      December 8, 2013 at 10:38 pm

  4. Dear Sid,
    It is good to have you back as well and for the luminous ray of hope that this piece brings. May we all embrace November and all the hidden treasures that it brings. Have a lovely weekend! Sharon

    November 8, 2013 at 3:15 am

    • Thank you Sharon. Clearly I wasn’t fully back when I posted this, but am rather hoping this time I truly am. November was an interesting month, for sure. Hope for you it was full of many of those treasures!

      December 8, 2013 at 10:40 pm

  5. That is a delightful spot. I am intrigued by the shape of the bridge and railings. There is something wonderfully fairy tale about it.

    November 11, 2013 at 3:48 am

    • I pretty much expect such an observant response from you Rachael… I was also drawn to not just the surroundings but the bridge as well. Thank you!

      December 8, 2013 at 10:44 pm

  6. Welcome back Sid, missed you …Don’t go away for so long…

    November 11, 2013 at 5:09 pm

    • Well, M, as much as I wanted to, I didn’t stay in WordPress long at all. (Hangs head in shame.) Maybe this time? Either way, you’ll know because I make a point of catching up with your blog when I am around.

      December 8, 2013 at 10:48 pm

  7. Hi Sid, how are you? Glad to have you back, my friend :)

    November 11, 2013 at 10:49 pm

    • Oh, wow, Chris – it’s taken nearly a month for me to return to WordPress land and reply to comments here. I miss your beautiful photos from your fantastic locales, and they may just be enough incentive to get me back here regularly again. I trust you’re well.

      December 8, 2013 at 10:51 pm

  8. Beautiful picture and post! Love those colors!

    November 14, 2013 at 12:24 pm

    • Thank you Amanda. About the colors – I know, right? The photography gods smiled on me that day with that scene, no doubt.

      December 8, 2013 at 10:52 pm

  9. Your blog crossed my mind today, so I thought I would stop by to say, “Hello!” I re-read this one, and your words touched my heart. Beautifully written! I hope all is well in your neck of the woods.

    November 16, 2013 at 6:22 pm

    • Thanks for stopping by, Patricia! You give me a great compliment with your comment – I think that’s about the pinnacle of what a writer can hope to hear about their words.

      Things here are… far from uninteresting, shall I say? You two and the cats are well?

      December 8, 2013 at 10:57 pm

  10. Beautiful & surreal!

    November 25, 2013 at 5:05 am

    • Thank you Teju! Oddly enough, it took me quite a while to fully appreciate the scene in this shot. Now I totally agree with you about that spot in the woods.

      December 8, 2013 at 10:59 pm

  11. The bravest thing I think anyone can do in the world is to reveal their own weaknesses, to show others that we don’t have it all-together (bc really none of us has it 100% together). You are teaching me (and others) to be more compassionate & to respond to behavior we don’t understand with love & understanding. I stand behind you & pray for you & give you my support. I think what you wrote was really quite amazing.

    December 9, 2013 at 2:27 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 440 other followers