The dadventure is afoot!

Here’s a quick update

Or a teaser, if you will.  For sure I’ll have a more comprehensive post for you soon, but for now I have just a couple images from a truly beautiful spot in Quebec.  In a roundabout kind of way, this can also serve as proof that I actually took a ten-hour trip away from Lansing – and not only that, but into another country.  Not a big deal for many (all?) of you, but certainly a big deal for me.

Anyway, I’m in the midst of a two-week stay in Ottawa, which is a lovely city in so many ways.  Fabulous architecture, beautiful parks, friendly people, more pubs than can be visited in two months much less two weeks, bike paths everywhere, a remarkable array of ethnic restaurants, and truly wonderful friends.  Among those wonderful friends is one many of you know, Claudia, maybe better known as SummerSolsticeGirl.

chelsea pub

Lovely as it is, I took a side trip out of Ottawa and into Quebec province – Gatineau Park, to be exact.  This is Lac Pink, worth the drive even if the drive takes three times as long as it should because you got lost.  Just saying.

2013-08-05 17.57.02

2013-08-05 17.48.18

2013-08-05 18.03.11

2013-08-05 18.06.54

This Monet-like shot taken by SSG.

More to come.

I wish you a wonderful summer (winter) day!

24 responses

  1. Beautiful shots , Sid !
    Thank you for the update .

    Enjoy your stay ! Have a great time !

    utham

    August 7, 2013 at 4:10 pm

    • Hello Utham. It was a very nice couple of weeks and I definitely enjoyed it – enough to want to go back sooner than I’ll be able to. How is everything in your part of the world?

      August 14, 2013 at 11:10 am

  2. Oh wow, you met Claudia – you lucky thing! Wonderful shots and look forward to hearing more of this trip.

    August 7, 2013 at 4:40 pm

  3. I’m glad to see you’ve ventured out to such a beautiful place! Getting lost can be a good thing… you go places you probably never would have ventured to if you had your wits about you!

    Enjoy your trip! I love group shots like that. Everyone looks so happy!

    August 7, 2013 at 7:31 pm

    • You’re so right, Lori. In a way, I had my wits about me more in the last two weeks than I maybe have had before.

      I like that shot as well. It was a great day – we had just finished two and a half hours of ziplining on a beautiful day. Something, by the way, that I would not have thought myself capable of doing. I saw the first ladder on the course and thought there’s no way I can do this. But, I decided I was going to give it a go, and I was surprisingly (shockingly) not woozy up there. Really, the entire trip was wonderful. I have memories that will last a lifetime, and took another step in the direction I’ve decided to go. If I ever get to it, I’ll write you more about that. Hope you’re all – you, FD, the pooches, the deer – well!

      August 14, 2013 at 4:58 pm

  4. Well done you! Looks like a brilliant trip, I can’t wait to hear more!

    August 8, 2013 at 6:42 am

    • It was a nice trip, yes! There are more photos and some stories and I’ll get another post out… soonish?

      August 14, 2013 at 5:54 pm

  5. Wow Andy, both these places are beautiful at this time of the year! And the park looks magnificent, definitely worth a drive:) Enjoy the vacation!

    August 8, 2013 at 8:19 pm

    • Thanks Peri. It was magnificent and lovely, and there’s more of each from other places we visited. Just to give you a hard time – who’s Andy? :)

      August 14, 2013 at 6:04 pm

      • Took me a moment to get it! That’s the auto correct coupled with a typo at work! Please accept my humble apology:) Look forward to all the fun posts on your visit, SID!

        August 15, 2013 at 12:29 pm

  6. Brilliant!!!Enjoy the trip.Thanks for sharing :)

    August 9, 2013 at 1:40 am

    • I did enjoy it, Praveena. Much fun, and some more photos and stories to come.

      August 14, 2013 at 6:06 pm

  7. Great pictures, Sid!

    August 9, 2013 at 4:38 pm

    • It’s a lovely place, Louis.

      I may or may not owe you an email, but either way I’ll get in touch soon.

      August 14, 2013 at 6:07 pm

      • I owe lots of emails, Sid so don’t worry about it. Taking care of my mom is using up time (not a complaint) but I do have lots of backed up emails. My mom is doing MUCH better!

        August 15, 2013 at 10:46 am

  8. Great picture Sid. Come back soon and give us more posts. Waiting…

    August 13, 2013 at 9:54 pm

  9. Must have been refreshing to get out of the comfort zone and discover MORE beauty :) Great pix, my favourite being the second last :)

    August 15, 2013 at 4:03 am

  10. Awesome photos! I really like the reflection of the clouds on the water… :)

    August 15, 2013 at 6:38 pm

  11. Sounds like a good time! :)

    August 18, 2013 at 7:55 am

  12. I like Ottawa too. I have never been to Gatineau park, although my Canadian husband talks about it fondly.

    September 9, 2013 at 3:00 pm

  13. Sid, what lovely pictures of Quebec! I have never been there. My favorite, though, is the photo with all the smiling faces. :)

    October 6, 2013 at 9:02 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 448 other followers