The dadventure is afoot!

Colorful

Were it up to my daughters, the entire long holiday weekend would be spent alternating between screens and not moving at more than a crawl going from television screen to Kindle screen to laptop screen.  Through this afternoon that plan was working very well for them, but was making me uncomfortable.  All that lack of physical activity?  I had to do something about that – and, really, who wears the pants in the family anyway?

Erm… let’s not really answer that.

This afternoon I pulled out my Parent card and told them they were coming with me to the local nature center for a nice walk.  Now, this is not what the title of this post is alluding to, but this was the prelude to the colorful part of the afternoon and I want to get this out of the way.

Unbeknownst to me, the nature center had been overtaken by immense herds of mosquitoes who apparently hadn’t eaten in months.  I expect mosquitoes there, but not to this extent.  We doused ourselves in insect repellent as soon as we got out of the car, but that was too late.  There was a bit of complaining, but we trudged onward anyway.  After 20 minutes or so, I was convinced of the ineffectiveness of our bug spray or the veracity of the notion that the mosquitoes had evolved to a higher level of bug spray resistance.  Whatever.  At that point, it didn’t matter.  I got a few pictures, but nothing that made communing with the super mosquitoes worthwhile.

P1070397

Not far from Michigan State University, I thought we might do better at the Children’s Gardens on campus.  I was right.  It was a perfect evening to visit, with flowers blooming brightly everywhere and the day’s heat diminishing.  The gardens are usually fabulous, but today they seemed awash in bright, fantastic colors that would bring a happy smile to the most glum of us.  If you’re in the Lansing/East Lansing area, I strongly urge you to pay a visit.  If you’re not, I strongly urge you to plan a trip and pay a visit – or stick around here and enjoy the photos below.

Thanks for coming by.  I hope you’re having a… colorful July!

46 responses

  1. Definitely colorful , Sid , – pleasingly so.
    Thank you for sharing the beautiful pix .

    utham

    July 6, 2013 at 11:22 pm

    • Hello Utham! I haven’t been by your blog in a while, and I feel like I’ve probably missed lots of color there, too. I hope you’re well, my friend.

      July 6, 2013 at 11:39 pm

  2. Sympathy on the mossies. Beautiful pictures, but you really must learn how to spell ‘colourful’ properly. ;-)

    July 7, 2013 at 12:29 am

  3. Just beautiful…

    July 7, 2013 at 2:54 am

  4. very nice galery

    July 7, 2013 at 5:19 am

    • Thank you, Mitza. And thanks for paying a visit, as well.

      July 7, 2013 at 10:24 pm

  5. Bambi! Yes, I always have this huge urge to scream BAMBI every time I see a deer.

    July 7, 2013 at 7:16 am

    • You make me laugh, Dianda. The thing about these deer is that you probably COULD scream Bambi right at them, and they wouldn’t run away but would just look at you.

      Of course, they’d look at you like you were crazy…

      July 7, 2013 at 10:25 pm

  6. Sid, such a coincidence! We went out too and got eaten by mosquitoes while enjoying our orchid hunt. We are now treating our itching patches with Tree Oil.
    Beautiful photos! I hope you all are recovering from those pesky insect’s bites quickly.

    July 7, 2013 at 8:16 am

    • Great minds think alike, right Paula?

      My Audrey is still having trouble with her mosquito bites, but Anna and I are fine. How about you? And will we see a painting of the orchids you sought?

      Your daughter can expect an envelope from mine soon, by the way. Much overdue!

      July 7, 2013 at 10:29 pm

  7. Jeff Hicks

    Great photo’s Sid. I love the colors. I took a walk with my son when spring broke in Dallas this year and was moved to capture the color of the blooms as well. Nature is so capitivating. Your bout with the mosquitos reminded me of trout fishing with my son on the Muskegon River a couple weekends ago. It was incredibly difficult to fish but we toughed it out. Thanks for sharing.

    July 7, 2013 at 8:26 am

    • Hey, Jeff! Yes, these colors were intense, and I just imagine the flowers in Texas are awesome. You were in Michigan a couple weeks ago? I probably should know that from FB, but you know. The memory, she’s not as good as she used to be.

      Thanks for visiting!

      July 7, 2013 at 10:31 pm

  8. Wonderfully colourful photos Sir!! They surely brought a smile to my face!! :)

    July 7, 2013 at 9:15 am

    • Good to hear that, Sumithra! That makes posting it absolutely worthwhile!

      July 7, 2013 at 10:32 pm

  9. Good morning Sid! We are plagued my mosquitoes here in Oklahoma as well. That doesn’t stop me from spending time with Daisy deer and her little ones, but I do admit it is almost maddening to be attacked all hours of the day! We don’t seem to get a break from them.

    These are lovely photos. I love these splashes of color in the summer. I think it’s important to expose your daughters to all sorts of environmental and cultural weekend adventures. It’s how we decide what we love and what we don’t care for in life… and it opens our eyes to the beauties (and the not-so-beautiful aspects) of life.

    July 7, 2013 at 11:33 am

    • No, I wouldn’t think a few mosquitoes (or a lot) would keep you from Daisy and the fawns.

      I agree with you about exposing our children to as much of the natural and cultural scene as we can. I keep trying to get my older daughter to a jazz concert without her kicking and screaming, on just that premise. Not yet.

      Hello to Daisy deer for me!

      July 7, 2013 at 10:36 pm

  10. We have not had much of a problem with mosquitos thus far but the tick population is high. We did have a long and wet spring which makes me wonder why we do not have a skeeter problem. I am in agreement with everyone that has mentioned the beautiful colours or colors.

    July 7, 2013 at 12:07 pm

    • Hmmm. Ticks or mosquitoes? Mosquitoes or ticks? Can’t decide which is worse.

      Hahahaha, Louis. Yeah, the colours were fabulous.

      July 7, 2013 at 10:38 pm

  11. Colorful indeed Sid, looks great!

    July 7, 2013 at 1:45 pm

    • Just consider that they were all at least as colorful as my photos suggest. Thanks Phil!

      July 7, 2013 at 10:39 pm

  12. I am reminded of the need to visit the Minnesota Arboretum next time I am in the Twin Cities and have some free time. (and I can totally relate with the blood-thirsty, bug spray-resistant mosquitoes!)

    July 7, 2013 at 2:37 pm

    • Oh, by all means visit the Arboretum, Kat. Anything similar in your part of the state?

      Sorry to hear you’re also dealing with the mosquitoes. Ugh.

      July 7, 2013 at 10:41 pm

      • Duluth actually has a lovely Rose Garden right along the shores of Lake Superior. When it is in full bloom, it is absolutely beautiful!

        July 7, 2013 at 11:10 pm

  13. What a beautiful set of blooms and pictures, Sid…I love the one with the green leaf-red rib and a close second is the one with deer in the fields:)

    July 8, 2013 at 2:11 am

    • I was drawn to that leaf, Peri, and couldn’t NOT take a macro shot of it. :)

      July 11, 2013 at 7:09 pm

  14. So Beautiful Sid!!!Thanks for sharing.

    July 8, 2013 at 1:00 pm

  15. Beautiful photos, Sid! If I ever make it over to your neck of the woods, I will most definitely visit the Children’s Gardens!! And I agree with the physical activity, it IS needed! My kids are totally content sitting in front of a tv or computer screen most of the day, but it’s not okay with me. An outing such as your’s is a wonderful idea, but minus the mosquitos, LOL!

    July 8, 2013 at 5:23 pm

    • Yeah, that physical activity thing. Why is it so hard for us to just kick them in the bum and send them outside for the day? Sigh!

      Do visit the Children’s Gardens, Juli – but don’t stop there. That’s just one corner of the greater Horticultural Gardens. They’re wonderful. Oh, and be sure to holler so the girls and I can say howdy if you do find yourself here.

      July 11, 2013 at 8:05 pm

  16. The title of the post describe the pictures very well, Sid.
    Anyway, I took my daughters for a jungle trek last two week, and what we encountered was not mosquitoes, it was leeches :(

    July 8, 2013 at 10:13 pm

    • Leeches! I’m not sure which is worse. How old are your daughters, Chris?

      July 11, 2013 at 8:07 pm

      • They are 14 and 12, Sid. The ages when children start to be rebellious to prove their existence :)

        July 11, 2013 at 10:42 pm

        • That’s about when I started but have not totally finished yet at the young age of 63. A geriatric rebel without a clue

          July 12, 2013 at 5:13 pm

  17. Good for you, dad! I can relate. My son goes from TV, to Xbox, to laptop. My husband and I have to be creative and come up with other interesting less sedentary activities. :) Great photo captures!

    July 10, 2013 at 10:41 pm

    • Thank you, Claudia. It does seem like we need to be creatively persuasive to get the screen generation to go outside. Good luck! :)

      July 11, 2013 at 8:12 pm

  18. Beautiful pictures!

    July 11, 2013 at 8:43 pm

  19. Oooo very colorful :) Beautiful pictures!

    July 19, 2013 at 1:58 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 440 other followers