The dadventure is afoot!

I miss these guys

By this time last year, I’d taken probably 300 pictures of dragonflies and butterflies and flowers and sunrises and… while rambling around on the trails at my favorite nature center.

This year?  Ha.  Nothing.

Many are my excuses reasons for not hitting the trails this year, a prominent one being that I no longer work there (watch for a future post with that as at least a side story).  However, even if I had spent more time walking those beautiful trails, I’m not convinced I’d have gotten nearly as good photos as I did last year.  Another reason completely valid explanation for my lack of pictures this year has to do with my hands.

I’ve long had a slight tremor in my hands.  It wasn’t often noticeable, but it was there.  In the last, oh, six or nine months or so, it’s gotten much worse.  Could be an effect of depression medications, could be an effect of circumstances and accompanying anxiety – or it could be any number of things I suppose.  No matter.  My hands are often now visibly shaking, so much so that my already poor writing has become like that of a four year old.

So, think I can hold a camera steady with this going on?  Yeah, not so much.

But that‘s not what I wanted to share with you.  No trail walking means no pictures, and no pictures means no new dragonflies to identify and show off.  That means using last year’s photos here, which I am not at all above doing.

P1030958a

So, yeah, I took this photo almost exactly a year ago (June 27), and it’s one of my favorites.  Oooooh, I wish I could identify it again, but the field guides I always used last year were – you guessed it – in the nature center’s gift shop.  Sigh.

Anyway, just look at those wings!  Absolutely gorgeous.  Please, feel free to click to get a zoomable image – it’s worth it to see the wing patterns up close.  Seeing this again, I was not the only one to be reminded of this video relating maths and nature, Fibonacci and life.

Enjoy, and thanks for the visit!

23 responses

  1. Gorgeous!

    And pffft, there’s nothing wrong with using last year’s pictures. The wrong thing to do would be not to share them

    June 26, 2013 at 11:07 pm

    • Thanks, C. What may be wrong, though, is using a year-old photo that I already used last year?

      July 2, 2013 at 10:31 pm

      • Well, I hadn’t see it. And I am sure that those who did, don’t mind either

        July 2, 2013 at 10:34 pm

  2. I use a stabilizing lens on my camera since I don’t carry a tripod. It really helps me out. I think it’s just fine to use last year’s photos… if there are rules about photography I don’t know them and I surely don’t care! Great photos by the way!

    June 27, 2013 at 12:34 am

    • Don’t know and don’t care – I can live with that philosophy, Lori!

      July 2, 2013 at 10:32 pm

  3. Great captured, Sid… love it.. :D

    June 27, 2013 at 2:08 am

  4. Hm… And maybe, even if you cannot take new pictures,it’s still worth taking your daughters for a walk to those beautiful trails, give them the camera this time and identify “these guys” together…?:)

    June 27, 2013 at 3:31 am

    • Perfect! I will do just that.

      Oh, I can use the camera still, but there are just times when I’ll be frustrated by the blurry results. That’s okay, though. Anyway, I like your idea! :D

      July 2, 2013 at 10:35 pm

  5. Great capture.First time I am seeing this picture in your blog.So this is the new one for me.Sid ;)I will check out your old entries to see other pictures.Thanks for sharing.

    June 27, 2013 at 5:30 am

    • Thanks, Praveena. No, I guess you wouldn’t have seen last year’s photos, eh?

      July 2, 2013 at 10:38 pm

  6. There are so good you should definately show them more than once!!

    June 27, 2013 at 6:24 am

    • Hey, thanks! I may take that kind word and run with it!

      July 2, 2013 at 10:39 pm

  7. Sid, I wish your shaking hands to heal soon, but till that time, don’t give in and use a beanbag or tripod to stabilize your camera.
    Might sporty writs bands help you?
    Eventually you will find a way as long as you don’t let worries ruining your love for photography.
    Keep going.

    June 27, 2013 at 7:55 am

    • Absolutely right, Paula. Really, there are other reasons I’ve not been out with the camera much of late, not only the hand tremors. I like the idea of a little beanbag!

      Thanks for the kind wishes, and your always kind words – and I will keep going. :)

      July 2, 2013 at 10:43 pm

  8. Terrific Sid, I’m no help with the IDs but like these critters!

    June 27, 2013 at 11:51 am

    • Thanks, Phil. Yeah, I need to get better at IDing them too, and also think they’re wonderful creatures.

      July 2, 2013 at 10:44 pm

  9. Hey Sid, I can identify the above as bugs and I agree with the others that (a) using last years pics is fine (b) try a tripod and/or (c) Paula’s idea is great and one I would not have thought of in a zillion years – a beanbag. Brilliant, Paula!!!!!!!

    June 27, 2013 at 12:33 pm

    • Bugs! Why didn’t I think of that? Smartass. :)

      Yes, Paula’s beanbag idea is indeed brilliant. Brilliant, but not surprising.

      July 2, 2013 at 10:46 pm

  10. I’m so sorry to hear about your health challenges, Sid. That must be so painful for you–not to be able to get out in the woods and take pictures. I do like that beautiful insect you took last year. Hopefully things will ease for you soon.

    June 30, 2013 at 3:21 pm

    • Oh, it’s not so bad Kathy. Some things one just learns to deal with, and all told a shaky hand is not so bad. Thanks for kind wishes, my Yooper friend!

      July 2, 2013 at 10:47 pm

  11. I am finally catching up with people, and I find out that you’re no longer at Fenner?! I do hope that everything is OK. I’m so sorry to hear about what’s going on…. I understand about health issues that get in the way of life. I’ve dealt with a few run-ins myself. Take care of yourself!!

    July 1, 2013 at 7:59 pm

    • I know you have, Holly – worse than what I’ve dealt with, too. Yeah, Fenner. I’m disappointed, but they deserve someone who is putting their full brain power into it. Anyway, I hope we can run into each other on the trails from time to time!

      July 2, 2013 at 10:50 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 440 other followers